Excitement Finally Introduces Itself To Me
2008-05-17 6:20 p.m.
Yeeeeeeee! I am so shook up right now! DO you know what just happened!? Well, I shall try to calm myself down long enough to break it down into intelligent language.
My parents and I went out shopping for some stuff, and were driving back on our way home. They were busy chatting about various stuff- (the random stuff that parents seem to like to converse about), and I was amusing myself by thinking lazy and languid thoughts and staring wistfully out the car window. As few of you know, (but will soon know after reading this), I have a dangerous streak in me- some sort of thirst for adventure and danger buried deep within my shy, cautious nature. Also, I pride myself by noticing small details- (whether a targeted random person is right handed or left handed, what their complexion may be, license plate, etc), in short, I often amuse myself by attempting to be something of an amateur sleuth. I once, within the same week, chose such a random person and, er...well not exactly "stalked" them, but perked up my ears and kept open my eyes, and, without EVER meeting them or introducing myself to them, discovered her name, where she worked, what color of shirt she wore on Monday, (white by the way), what color sweatshirt she wore on Saturday, (pink just so you know), of what stature she was, of what...HEY. I'm getting side tracked here.
Anyway, moving on- back to the story I started to tell you...so there I was, looking out the car window at the neighbors houses passing by. My eyes lighted upon a small culdesac, made up by only several rather small houses. Some of these houses had cars parked outside of them, and my glance swiftly passed them over. A cute little set of houses they were, but my mind did not have time to linger on such trivial thoughts, for it had spotted a potential threat. Yes, I say THREAT. For right there, parked innocently enough on the concrete pavement, sat a pick-up truck. A rather all-too average pick-up truck, if you ask me. "WOW". You say- "you built up the suspense simply to inform me that you saw an average pick-up truck!? You really MUST be gone! You're definitely missing a stair in your upper staircase!" But let me inform you, reader, that, average pick-up truck though it may be, what was in the back of the pick-up truck was not at all average. FIRE was what was in the back of the truck.
Of course, my parents kept up their conversation, never once looking out their side windows to notice how a big, black cloud of steady smoke was erupting and ever growing larger. I, of course, immediately broke in to tell my dad what I had just seen. He, half supposing I was only joking, finally turned the van around and went back to have a look at the scene. No trivial teenager's joke met his eyes, or my mom's. They immediately stopped and debated what we should do. No neighbors were outside... quite apparently, no one knew about the disaster. And the entire time the flames grew higher and higher- fanned by the steady gust of wind that was blowing. The billow of smoke grew thicker and thicker- blacker and blacker, and the flames began to jump out of the back of the pick-up and lick the paint on the side of the truck...burning a cancerous hole wherever it went. My eyes watched the scene with a sort of excited dread, while the entire time my parents debated whether or not to go home and call 911 or to use their cell phone to call 911. *Shakes head*. Parents. Finally, my dad just decided to run up to the neighbors house and knock on the door to inform them of the traumatic event. Not too soon after he had done so, the neighbors rushed out of their house- the woman, shaking and trembling with fear, and the man utilizing his phone- (quite apparently to call the police).
Meanwhile, the traffic began to back up...many people were stopping to find out what was the cause of the smoke and the small party standing in a residents yard! And all this time the flames grew higher- engulfing the pick-up, claiming it and sealing its fate forever. Looking at the big black cloud I could see a giant piece of a tire being blown sky high...*POP*. Just a little explosion- there went one tire! *POP*. Another explosion- there goes another tire...this was just unbelievable! One of those events that made me want to look again and again to make sure it wasn't all my imagination. But no, it wasn't. It couldn't be.
We began to discuss the awful and threatening possibility of the flames reaching the gas tank and causing the pick-up to explode. And then, faintly carried on the wind came the sound of the sirens. One could breathe easier now. Closer and closer- now two police cars pulled up to the crowded scene. But WHERE were the fire trucks?! 10 or 15 minutes had to have passed and still no fire trucks arrived. My parents got in our car and drove away from the scene- (even though I was DYING to wait and see the end of it)! I wanted so very badly to see the pick-up's fate...would it explode? Would the flames be put out before it did blow up? And WHAT sort of fire departement did we have! Our fire departement is virtually right around the corner from the scene of the fire...they should have been there 5 minutes ago!
My dear, patient reader, I regretfully tell you that I do not know, and most likely shall never know the exact end to this incredulous story. But this one thing I can guarantee you- THAT PICK-UP WAS A GONER, MAN!
And even though my dad complimented me on being the "heroine" of the disaster- being the first one to see it and notify them and all, I am still not satisfied. I regret not being able to see the end of the quite "unnatural disaster".

Moral of the story: From now on I need no longer walk around saying "nothing exciting ever happens around here". Because I now know that IT DOES.